Navigate Up
Sign In

 2016 Debating Success

The finals of the Fraser Coast Apex Debating competition were held last Tuesday evening at the Brolga Theatre in Maryborough. We were fortunate to have three of our Xavier Catholic College teams participating at this level of the competition.

Our year 7/8 team, Sarah Garty, Nellie Davis and Claire Drake debated the negative side of the topic, 'That electricity prices should be increased to cover costs associated with the expansion of the network' competing against Fraser Coast Anglican College. Both teams spoke confidently and provided strong and logical arguments to support their case. However, it was our opposition who won over the judges by a very narrow margin. 

The Senior round of the competition saw Xavier compete against Xavier.  Sheryl Uluitoga, Patrick Donnelly, and Madi Piddington were proud to affirm in an issue very much in the news: ‘That America should amend it's constitution and implement regulation of gun ownership'. On the opposite side of the house David Gent, Naomi Shanahan-Giaquinto, and Dom McMahon made their case for the negative. After a long season of Apex debating, and recently returning from a successful outing at the National Jesuit Debating Carnival in Mount Druitt, NSW, both teams were primed and ready to go. The affirmative side went straight for the heartstrings, providing numerous examples from recent news stories in support of the topic. Not to be deterred, the negative team provided substantive matter that countered with logical argument to support gun regulation under the existing constitution. By the closest of margins, the affirmative came away with the win.

Our Senior team now progresses to the State Final of this competition which will be held at Mudjimba youth camp on the Sunshine Coast on the weekend of August 26. We wish the students and their coach Mr Colin Wright all the very best in their quest to secure the State title.

Last week marked the end of Xavier’s involvement in the Fraser Coast segment of the Apex Debating competition for this year. We would like to congratulate all students who participated on their level of commitment and involvement in this contest. We would also like to thank all of their coaches for the many hours they have put into training and preparing our students. Thank you to Mr Wright, Mrs Sinclair, Ms Kliendienst, Mr Barker, Miss Gilshenan, Doctor Turner, Miss Duffield, Miss Nicholson, Miss Dawkings and Miss Langdon.

Loretta Swann- Director-Humanities/Arts/LOTE