Curriculum Overview

Xavier Catholic College is committed to providing its community of learners with an academic curriculum that promotes both a broad knowledge base and the skills of thinking within a challenging, supportive and technology rich environment which develops individuals as both independent and collaborative learners.  Learning and teaching at Xavier Catholic College is learner-centred, achieved through a variety of learning experiences, teaching strategies and Ignatian reflective practice.  Our aim is to cater for the learning needs and styles of all learners. Learning outcomes should not be seen in isolation as the product of a single KLA or learning experience; instead, where appropriate, outcomes from a variety of KLAs should be integrated in the planning process in such a way as to complement and support each other. Learning experiences involve a commitment of the learner to continuous reflection and re-evaluation.

To help guide our curriculum planning, delivery and assessment, Xavier Catholic College will implement the learning framework - Dimensions of Learning throughout its academic curriculum. The Dimensions of Learning (DoL) framework is a model based on the work of Robert J Marzano. The DoL framework places a strong emphasis upon the deliberate development and use of complex reasoning processes (or higher-order thinking). DoL envisages that there are five ‘dimensions’ to which learners and their teachers must attend in the process of learning. These dimensions are:

  1. Positive attitudes and perceptions about learning.

  2. The acquisition and integration of knowledge.

  3. The extension and refinement of knowledge.

  4. The meaningful use of knowledge.

  5. Productive habits of mind.

Xavier Catholic College’s Curriculum has been written to align with the standards and frameworks from Brisbane Catholic Education, Ignatian pedagogy, Queensland Curriculum and Assessment Authority & Australian Curriculum.